The Vegan Experiment, Day 1: Sweet Potato and Pomegranate Tacos

Now that I am back at home after a very hectic and stressful day of travelling, I am ready to begin my New Year’s resolution: a month of veganism. I’ve planned out my whole menu, including at least 5 new recipes to try per week, did my grocery shopping, and now it’s time to start! Today was the first, and it went quite well, I think 🙂

I had separate meals planned for Breakfast and Lunch, but I was really exhausted last night and ended up waking up at 11 this morning (and may or may not have gotten out of bed until 30 minutes later). School doesn’t start back up until tomorrow, though, so no harm done. I was, however, too late for breakfast, so I settled for brunch instead. When I went grocery shopping yesterday, I was very happy to learn that my favorite brand of gluten-free waffles are also 100% vegan, so I grabbed a box for emergency meals like today’s brunch. It was pretty simple: waffles with a thin spread of Tofutti “Better Than” Cream Cheese and some vegan strawberry jam, along with a side of fresh cantaloupe. I’d never had Tofutti before, but I’m pleased to report that it tastes almost exactly like cream cheese, which made me very happy 😀

TofuttiCreamCheeseLG

Picture from company website.

I’ve already been taking vitamin B-12 and iron supplements since becoming a vegetarian; now that I’m going vegan, I’ve added an Omega-13 supplement and Calcium with Vitamin-D. I like the chewables best…swallowing pills always makes me feel like I’m choking.

Picture from company website.

Picture from company website.

Dinner tonight came from a recipe that made me decide that trying to be vegan for a month was feasible and possibly delicious: Black Eyed Peas and Sweet Potato Tacos. I absolutely love tacos, but I’ve sadly not had any since going vegetarian. Bean burritos just don’t taste the same. Therefore, I was very happy to test these out, and I am ever so thankful that I did! I left out the onion and the pepper (the former because I forgot to get one and the latter because I hate green peppers with a burning passion), and added some cayenne to the sweet potatoes before I roasted them. I also used whole wheat tortillas instead of corn because I like the texture better.

tacos

When stirring the peas and potatoes mix on the stove, I added some dried cilantro. I also added romaine lettuce and shredded kale after taking it off the stove, and then garnished the whole thing with some fresh cilantro. Best. Dinner. Ever. Seriously, it’s surpassed Bean and Kale Stew as my favorite meal. The variety of spices made it savory and earthy, but the fresh cilantro and the tangy pomegranate seeds really brightened it up. The seeds also added almost a dressing to the whole thing because of the not-quite-sweet, not-quite-sour juice when I bit into the seeds. Mmm. I only meant to have one taco, but I had two…and I don’t regret it 😉 And I have enough leftover for lunch tomorrow! This meal has gained a permanent place on my menu…I encourage everyone to try it. You won’t regret it!

Well, that’s day 1 of veganism down for me 🙂 I’ll post again to document tomorrow’s journey. Thank you for following along. If you have any favorite recipes, feel free to share them in the comments…I’d love to try them out!

About Selayna

I'm an aspiring writer, as well as crazy and rather sarcastic. I'm currently teaching English at a school in Poland, so check out my travel blog for humorous (and occasionally insightful) commentary on my adventures!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Gluten-free, vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

