Gluten-Free Vegan Pumpkin Pie Cookies

Fall is my favorite season (well…almost. Winter will always be my favorite, but just barely). I love the colors of the leaves, the gorgeous cool weather, rainstorms, spiced apple cider, and getting to wear coats again. Seriously, coats are fantastic. I have many of them πŸ˜€ Anyway, the one Fall trend I never really understood was “pumpkin everything.” It’s probably because my only experience with it was pumpkin pie, which I never really liked because the flavor is so strong, and the texture is so gelatinous. But The Boyfriend absolutelyΒ loves pumpkin, so I figured I should learn to give it a go…in a relatively healthy way, of course.

DSCF2639

Enter this recipe for pumpkin pie cookies! They looked absolutely phenomenal, and wait, they’re gluten-free AND vegan?! Count me in πŸ˜€ I made some pretty substantial changes to the recipe in the link, so I’ll give my version here.

DSCF2626

  • 1/2 cup creamy peanut butter (I didn’t sub it in equally for the almond butter because the flavor is so strong, it would overwhelm the pumpkin. Just use enough to bind everything together).
  • 1/2 cup pumpkin puree
  • 1/8 cup maple syrup
  • 1 TBSP Truvia
  • 2 TSP pumpkin pie spice
  • 1 TSP Cinnamon
  • 1/2 TSP freshly ground ginger
  • a dash of sea salt
  • 1 TSP vanilla
  • Optional: 1/4 cup mini vegan dark chocolate chips (the cookies are just as good sans chocolate…but I am a chocolate junkie :D)

DSCF2619

Preheat the oven to 350. Mix everything but the chocolate chips in a medium bowl. I recommend using a spoon instead of an electric mixer, because you don’t want to over beat it. Make sure that the peanut butter is well blended. Check the consistency by holding a spoonful of the batter up over the bowl – if it doesn’t slide off the spoon, it’s thick enough πŸ™‚ If it’s still too thin, add more peanut butter a tablespoon at a time. You can also add more spices to your taste, but I find that this particular blend is the perfect balance for me. Cover a baking sheet with waxed paper, and drop small spoonfuls of the batter onto the pan. Bake for about 20 minutes, or until golden. They will still be very soft, but that’s ok…these treats are basically a pumpkin pie in cookie form, so they should be gooey. Just make sure they hold together πŸ™‚ Best served warm!

DSCF2620

DSCF2621

DSCF2622

DSCF2637

These little cookies are the perfect fall bite: soft, warm, fragrant, lightly chocolatey and perfectly spiced snacks with just the right amount of pumpkin. I made a triple batch of them, and they didn’t last through the work day. Everyone was asking for seconds, and I had a hard time not eating half of them myself πŸ˜‰ After trying these cookies, I am definitely a pumpkin convert. Now, if you’ll excuse me, I need to go procure more pumpkin and make some more cookies…

About Selayna

I'm an aspiring writer, as well as crazy and rather sarcastic. I'm currently teaching English at a school in Poland, so check out my travel blog for humorous (and occasionally insightful) commentary on my adventures!
This entry was posted in Baking, Chocolate, Cookies, Dessert, Gluten-free, Peanut Butter, Recipes, vegan and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Gluten-Free Vegan Pumpkin Pie Cookies

  1. isabella says:

    These look so good! =)
    Love,
    Isabella

    Like

Leave a Reply

