Vegan Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge

Who doesn’t love fudge? Seriously, that stuff is amazing. Every year at Christmas, I make a mint dark chocolate fudge for my family, and it rarely lasts for 24 hours. It’s thick, creamy, rich, and completely decadent. There’s two problems with it, though: it’s far too rich, and it’s made with dairy, so it’s not very good for my stomach. So when I found myself craving fudge this morning, I thought, “Why not look for a vegan recipe?” And then, voila! In the magical land of Pinterest appears this gorgeous easy recipe for peanut butter fudge.

DSCF2589

It’s ridiculously easy to make! I love peanut butter, so my mouth started watering as soon as I clicked on the recipe link. However, when I see a peanut butter dessert, the first thing I think is “This needs chocolate” 😉 So, of course, I brought in my vegan cocoa powder (about 1 tsp) to make more of a Reese’s flavored fudge. Yum.

DSCF2584

The recipe calls for a double boiler, but ain’t nobody got money for that, so I had to get creative and make my own 😀 We have this huge metal stew pot in my kitchen (the previous tenants at my old house left it behind, and I was more than happy to claim it!), so I put about 4 inches of water in it and brought the water to a simmer. At that point, I put all my ingredients into a smaller metal pan, and suspended it above the simmering water. It worked just as well a store-bought double boiler, and there was no difference in the consistency of the mixture.

DSCF2585

DSCF2586

DSCF2587

This fudge is absolutely perfect – it’s creamy without being too rich, sweet without any added sugar or processed nonsense, and has a lovely velvety chocolate texture that practically melts in your mouth. There is a slight coconutty aftertaste because of the coconut butter, but I rather like it. If you want to mask the taste, just add an extra tsp of cocoa powder 🙂 If I’m not careful, I may eat the whole batch tonight. Mmm. Vegan definitely doesn’t mean boring or bland, and this fudge proves it beyond the shadow of a doubt!

DSCF2588

DSCF2591

About Selayna

I'm an aspiring writer, as well as crazy and rather sarcastic. I'm currently teaching English at a school in Poland, so check out my travel blog for humorous (and occasionally insightful) commentary on my adventures!
This entry was posted in Chocolate, Dessert, Gluten-free, Peanut Butter, Recipes, vegan and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Vegan Chocolate Peanut Butter Fudge

  1. Looks delicious! Adding chocolate was a fantastic idea. Peanut butter and chocolate is the bomb. Thanks for linking the recipe-I can’t wait to try it!

    Like

Leave a Reply

