The Tortilla that Wasn’t

You don’t realize how much you miss burritos and quesadillas until you go gluten-free. I’ve been craving a breakfast burrito (with scrambled eggs, goat cheese, and spinach) for a couple months now, but the gluten-free tortillas you can buy from the store either crumble to pieces when you touch them or they have the taste and texture of rubber šŸ˜¦ I foundĀ this recipeĀ for gluten-free flour tortillas yesterday, and I figured that I would give them a try this morning! They didn’t turn out *exactly* how I wanted them to, but more on that later. They were still yummy!

DSCF2521

My new favorite gluten-free flour is “Cup 4 Cup,” which has no bean flour (it tastes funny) and already has xanthum gum added. It tastes and acts exactly like regular all-purpose flour, so I’m going to keep this permanently on hand in my pantry. For baking powder, I use Clabber Girl, because it’s certified gluten-free and is actually pretty cheap.Ā 

DSCF2517

The dough was a little stickier than I expected, but I dusted the rolling pin, my hands, and the board, and I was able to roll out the dough pretty easily. I rolled them out as thin as I could without breaking the dough.

DSCF2518

DSCF2519

I put about 2 tsp of olive oil into a small pan, and then turned the stove on. When the pan was hot, I put the first “tortilla” in and let it get nice and bubbly and brown.

DSCF2520

DSCF2521

Even as thin as they were when I put them in the pan, they puffed up really high and fast. When I took them out of the pan, they had the texture and consistency of Naan bread. They even tasted like Naan! Not that I’m complaining, mind you – I love Naan. It was delicious. I spread one with cream cheese and that lovely peach-lavender jam I got from the farmer’s market, and then cooked an egg sunny-side up with black pepper and paprika, and put it on top of another piece with some sharp cheddar. Yummy! I’ve missed sunny-side up eggs over toast, so I was happy to have this for breakfast this morning.

DSCF2522

DSCF2524

For lunch later, I’m going to turn some of the Naan into PB&J with creamy peanut butter and homemade blackberry jam. You wouldn’t think you’d miss eating PB&J, but 5 months without it has me craving it, so I am very excited! And now, I must continue my quest for gluten-free tortilla that is actually a tortilla šŸ˜‰ If you like Naan, though, I recommend this recipe!

About Selayna

I'm an aspiring writer, as well as crazy and rather sarcastic. I'm currently teaching English at a school in Poland, so check out my travel blog for humorous (and occasionally insightful) commentary on my adventures!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cheese, farmer's market, Gluten-free, Recipes, Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

