Protein Pancakes of Awesomeness

I’ve been really busy for the past week and haven’t had time to try any new recipes, but today I had the hankering for pancakes! I’ve tried gluten-free pancakes before, and they were pretty decent, but the banana base made them a little too thick and chewy for regular use. So today, I went looking for a different recipe. I wanted something with a lighter consistency, more appetizing texture, and more protein. I found this really awesome and easy recipe for Oatmeal Cottage Cheese Pancakes, and upon realizing that I had all of the ingredients in my pantry, decided to give it a try. I took the suggestion of one of the reviewers, and used two whole eggs instead of four egg whites, which gave the pancakes plenty of extra protein, and they came out perfectly. I also added a teaspoon of cinnamon and half a teaspoon of sea salt to the batter for extra flavor. I topped them off with some pure maple syrup, and I was amazed. They tasted like french toast, but with the texture of regular pancakes. They were also super filling, but without the bloat you get from regular gluten-filled pancakes. Yum! I think next time I’ll spread them with some jam or a fruit compote instead of the syrup – they’re good enough on their own that they don’t need the syrup.

Very delicious-looking batter! You don't even have to use the blender :)

Very delicious-looking batter! You don’t even have to use the blender 🙂

I cooked them in coconut oil, which gave them a lovely crispy exterior.

I cooked them in coconut oil, which gave them a lovely crispy exterior.

The finished product! I ate my pancakes with a glass of V8 fusion! Always get the low sugar variety :)

The finished product! I ate my pancakes with a glass of V8 fusion! Always get the low sugar variety 🙂

If I make these pancakes sans cinnamon, they become really tasty sandwich “bread”! All that protein will be great since I don’t use lunch meat anymore 🙂 I’m happy to have an easy to make bread-like substance again. And anyway, who doesn’t like pancakes?

About Selayna

I'm an aspiring writer, as well as crazy and rather sarcastic. I'm currently teaching English at a school in Poland, so check out my travel blog for humorous (and occasionally insightful) commentary on my adventures!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Dinner, Gluten-free, Recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

