Perks of Versatility: Oatmeal

Words cannot express how much I love oatmeal. It ranks up near polenta on my list of favorite foods. I could *almost* live off the stuff for a while…actually, I did once. For a month last semester because of budgetary constraints, I had oatmeal 3 times a day. Dark days, those were. But it still wasn’t enough to put me off oatmeal forever. It’s gluten-free, and ridiculously versatile – the inherent blandness lends itself well to pretty much whatever you want to put in it. There’s enough variety (for cheap) that I can eat it multiple times a week and feel like I’m eating completely different meals, so it keeps me from getting bored. It’s still one of my go-to meals several times a week, particularly for lunch, because I can pack up the dry oats and whatever I want to put in the meal, and take it to the office with me to cook it in the microwave. I usually make mine with almond milk instead of water, as it makes the oatmeal a little heartier, more filling, and adds a little extra protein. When I eat it after an intense workout, I usually mix in peanut butter and honey for that protein boost. My current favorite oatmeal mix, though, involves dried cranberries (low sugar), honey, and goat cheese! It’s a little more on the savory side because of the tangy goat cheese, but the honey keeps it nice and light. One of my favorite meals!

Now that's some tasty looking grain.

Now that’s some tasty looking grain.

I also like to mix in apples, cinnamon, and ginger for a more fragrant meal, but there’s really no limit to what you can do with this stuff. For the meat-free and gluten-sensitive broke college student, it’s a great, cheap, and healthy pantry staple 🙂 Tomorrow, I tackle a gluten-free “bread” that is easy to make, very light, and cost-efficient to boot! Happy eating 🙂

About Selayna

I'm an aspiring writer, as well as crazy and rather sarcastic. I'm currently teaching English at a school in Poland, so check out my travel blog for humorous (and occasionally insightful) commentary on my adventures!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Perks of Versatility: Oatmeal

  1. Pingback: Summer Fruits and Veggies are the Best | The Carnivorous Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

