Sweet Omelettes and Kale Stew

Summer still being in full swing, and migraines being what they are, I slept in a bit late this morning and decided to go for brunch instead of just breakfast or lunch; I really wanted my regular smoothie, but it was late enough in the morning to necessitate an actual meal to go with it. And so I thought, “What better to go with a fruit smoothie than a sweet omelette?” Most people eat savory omelettes with spinach, onions, and various other veggies. But I’d also been curious about what would happen if I put fruit in my omelette instead. So I decided to go with it and experiment a little this morning, and I was very pleased with the results.

First, I did my prep work for the meal, which mostly involved getting out all the tools and ingredients I needed for everything. If there’s one thing I’ve learned from the million and one cooking shows I watch, it’s that mise en place, or having everything out and organized, is very important and helps make the cooking process smoother.

Having all of the little pieces prepped before you try to make the dish itself really saves time.

Having all of the little pieces prepped before you try to make the dish itself really saves time.

The next order of business was to make my smoothie. I used my regular base, and then added some frozen wild blueberries and peanut butter. I fully admit, I am a peanut butter junkie. Natural or store-bought, I will eat that stuff out of the jar with a spoon. I love the slightly nutty flavor (and protein!) it adds to my breakfast smoothies. I made it a little thicker than usual so that it could sit for a few minutes while I made my omelette. The result was a lovely, thick purple smoothie that looked just as delicious as it tasted.

Oh smoothies, how I love you.

Oh smoothies, how I love you.

Then came the actual omelette itself! Since this is a recipe I came up with myself, I’ll share it directly in this post:

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 tsp almond milk
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • Dash of sea salt
  • ½ mango
  • 4 strawberries
  • Creamy goat cheese
  • 3-4 fresh basil leaves
  • Raw honey
  • Coconut oil

Dice the mango and strawberries; mix together in a bowl and set aside. I use a firmer mango for a textural contrast (and also to keep the mixture from being too sweet), but a really ripe one will work just as well. Beat the eggs in a small bowl or measuring cup just until blended; gently blend in cinnamon, sea salt, and almond milk. Melt the coconut oil in a pan over low heat, then pour in the egg mixture. Let it sit for about two minutes or until the bottom has set. Flip it over (gently!) for about a minute until the other side has set, then slide the whole thing out onto a plate. The omelette should be really light and fluffy. Mix the goat cheese into your fruit mixture and spoon onto one half of the omelette. Drizzle the top with the raw honey. Chiffonade the basil and use it to garnish the top of the omelette (or you can mix it in with the fruit!), and voila! A semi-sweet breakfast omelette 🙂

Chiffonade of basil! I love learning new knife skills.

Chiffonade of basil! I love learning new knife skills.

I get hungry just looking at this thing.

I get hungry just looking at this thing.

I had some fruit leftover, so I put it on the side of my plate and served it with my smoothie and omelette. It was one of the best meals I’ve ever eaten – I think fresh basil is my new favorite herb. Basil brightens up anything you put it in, and it provides a good contrast to sweet things like fruit and honey. Yum.

The finished brunch product. Who needs sugary breakfast cereal?

The finished brunch product. Who needs sugary breakfast cereal?

Dinner was a revelation – Bean, Egg, and Kale Stew and three cheese polenta. I am not usually a fan of soup. If it’s not chicken noodle, I’m not interested! But when I found this recipe that incorporated two of my favorite things (eggs and kale), not to mention the fact that it has freakin’ 28 grams of protein per serving, I knew I had to try it. And am I ever thankful that I did, because this is quite honestly the best soup/stew I have ever eaten in my life – I cleaned my bowl, and if it weren’t for the fact that I needed to save the remainder for lunch tomorrow, I would have gone back for seconds. Of course, I made my own modifications!  I used a can of black beans in addition to the can of pinto beans, I used vegetable broth instead of chicken, and since I’m not a fan of soy sauce (but I LOVE spicy food), I subbed in cayenne pepper and paprika. I also cooked the egg with coconut oil instead of olive oil. The result was fantastic. Kale tends to be a little bitter on its own, but stewing it mitigated the bitterness, and what was left nicely complemented the runny egg yolk (I never would have thought of putting a sunny-side-up egg on a bean soup, but cutting into it and letting that yolk dissipate into the broth was divine). And I put in PLENTY of paprika, cayenne, and freshly ground black pepper. My throat and mouth are still burning, but in the best possible way. All-in-all, this is my favorite recipe that I’ve tried so far – definitely going to be a staple in my diet.

The aroma coming from the soup as it cooked was heavenly.

The aroma coming from the soup as it cooked was heavenly.

My eggs come out tastier and softer when I cook them in coconut oil instead of butter or olive oil.

My eggs come out tastier and softer when I cook them in coconut oil instead of butter or olive oil.

The finished bowl of soup with the egg!

The finished bowl of soup with the egg!

The recipe I shared with you calls for a side dish of cheddar bread, but aside from the gluten problem, I find it a little too pedestrian for me! So I made my favorite gluten-free grain, polenta. I melted in Taleggio (a soft Italian cheese with a light, almost fruity aftertaste) and creamy goat cheese (few things in life are as lovely as biting into polenta to find a little pocket of tangy goat cheese waiting for you), and, of course, grated some of my go-to cheese, Parmigiano-Reggiano, on top. And since you can never have too many greens, I added a cucumber and spinach salad on the side.

Three-cheese polenta and a green salad.

Three-cheese polenta and a green salad.

The complete meal. I ate like royalty tonight!

The complete meal. I ate like royalty tonight!

Best meal I have eaten in months, by far. Who needs to eat out when you can make healthy, delicious food at home?

About Selayna

I'm an aspiring writer, as well as crazy and rather sarcastic. I'm currently teaching English at a school in Poland, so check out my travel blog for humorous (and occasionally insightful) commentary on my adventures!
This entry was posted in Breakfast, Cheese, Dinner, Recipes, Smoothies, Soup, Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sweet Omelettes and Kale Stew

  1. Mika says:

    Cook for me!! Gawww that all sounds so good!

    Like

  2. Pingback: The Vegan Experiment, Day 1: Sweet Potato and Pomegranate Tacos | Mind Over Platter

Leave a Reply

