Beat the Heat: Smoothies and Vegan Ice Cream

Breakfast is what gets me going in the morning. I have to get up at 5 am during the week so that I can work out before I go to my actual job. I’d much rather sleep in, but I figured out last year that regular exercise helps me control my fibromyalgia (at least a little), so sleep is sacrificed on the altar of Zumba classes and weight training. Anyway, 5 am is the latest I can get up and still have time to get to the bus to campus. I don’t have time for a fully cooked breakfast, and it wouldn’t sit well on my stomach for working out anyway, so every morning, I make a smoothie. I love my smoothies so much that I even make them for breakfast on the weekends! I have a “base” that I use for all the smoothies I make: 1 Tablespoon chia seeds (4 grams of protein!), almond milk (1-1/2 grams of protein, depending on how much milk you use), and a whole frozen banana (lots of potassium plus another gram of protein). The almond milk keeps you from feeling heavy, which dairy definitely does in the morning, and the frozen banana means you don’t need to add ice that will water down the smoothie. The more almond milk you add, the thinner the smoothie will be, and I like mine thick enough to eat with a spoon (at least before it starts melting), so I use less milk than most recipes recommend.

I'm a slow eater, so I make my smoothies thick enough to eat with a spoon first, before it becomes a tasty drink.

I’m a slow eater, so I make my smoothies thick enough to eat with a spoon first, before it becomes a tasty drink.

Today, I made a strawberry and mango smoothie. I chopped up some fresh strawberries and added in a frozen mango. I usually peel a fresh mango the night before, cut it into cubes, and then freeze it overnight. The result was the perfect breakfast drink for a warm, sluggish July morning. Most of my other smoothies have peanut butter for added protein, but since I didn’t put any in this one (peanut butter with mango? Yuck!), I supplemented it with the Blue-Green Algae Spirulina, for about 6 extra grams of protein.

Yeah, this stuff. It doesn't taste good on its own, but it works well in smoothies and so on.

Yeah, this stuff. It doesn’t taste good on its own, but it works well in smoothies and so on.

After I work out, I usually eat a KIND Bar (gluten, dairy, and processed sugar-free, with plenty of nuts and complete grains, and it actually tastes good!). I usually eat the Peanut Butter and Dark Chocolate one after I hit the gym, since it has 7 grams of protein per bar. I’ll supplement that with pistachios, a banana, or a small square of local cheese.

I like these better than candy bars.

I like these better than candy bars.

Lunch was foiled by a dastardly migraine that kept me in bed all afternoon, soΒ instead, I’ll mention another routine I have. Every Monday, Wednesday, and Friday, I chop up half a cucumber, a whole lemon, and some sprigs of fresh mint, and put them into a gallon of water. After it rests for about half an hour, I’ll drink from that gallon throughout the day. It’s very refreshing, and also helps me detox. I love other fruit-infused water (strawberry and fresh basil, anyone?), but this is the one I use regularly. It’s particularly wonderful during a muggy Virginia summer!

Very refreshing. Keep it cold, though.

Very refreshing. Keep it cold, though.

Due to missing lunch, dinner was just a repeat of the Quinoa salad I had last night, with the addition of a nectarine, so I won’t repeat myself about that πŸ™‚ Instead, the highlight of this post is this wonderful vegan chocolate ice cream! Chocolate ice cream that is delicious but also really good for you? Yes, please! I didn’t have an ice cream machine, so it was a little less smooth than I would have liked, but that wasn’t a big deal. I used slightly less pure maple syrup than she called for, but it still tasted fine – I like my desserts on the less sweet side, anyway. I think next time I make this, I’m going to try it with raw honey instead of the maple syrup. At any rate, it tastes absolutely delicious! I’d never heard of avocado-based ice cream before, but after eating this, I am definitely a convert. It’s a good thing avocados are on the expensive side, or I’d be eating this ice cream all day! Chocolate ice cream doesn’t have to be a guilt pleasure anymore πŸ™‚

The bowl was mostly empty by the time I got around to photographing it! Seriously good.

The bowl was mostly empty by the time I got around to photographing it! Seriously good.

Tomorrow, I tackle a vegetarian soup that has a ridiculous amount of protein in it. It looks delicious, and I really can’t wait to try it! If you try the ice cream recipe, or make any changes to it, let me know how it turns out! Happy eating πŸ™‚

About Selayna

I'm an aspiring writer, as well as crazy and rather sarcastic. I'm currently teaching English at a school in Poland, so check out my travel blog for humorous (and occasionally insightful) commentary on my adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Beat the Heat: Smoothies and Vegan Ice Cream

  1. Anna says:

    Yum! I love avocado, so I’m sure I’d love this recipe. I recently read about vegan ice cream made from sweet potatoes. I’m going to give it a try, too. I love my usual banana vegan ice cream, but it’s fun to try something different. πŸ™‚

    Like

  2. What a great post! I just followed you to stay updated on your future posts and I look forward to them. I recently started my own vegan/political blog, so feel free to check it out and let me know what you think!
    http://MannyRutinel.com

    Have a great day! πŸ˜€

    Like

  3. Pingback: Sweet Omelettes and Kale Stew | The Carnivorous Vegetarian

  4. Hey! I’m SO glad you tried the ice cream and loved it! I’ve also tried it with honey and it was delicious – after a week the flavour was even more amazing. Loved how you chronicle what you eat for the day! Being vegetarian rocks :).

    Like

    • Selayna says:

      Thanks for sharing your recipe with the world! It’s great to have ice cream that doesn’t make me feel sick (or guilty) πŸ™‚ Glad to know it works with honey too! Can’t wait to make another batch πŸ˜€

      Like

  5. Pingback: Comfort Food: Gluten-Free Mac & Cheese and (More) Vegan Ice Cream | The Carnivorous Vegetarian

  6. Pingback: Avocados are Awesome: Vegan Corn Chowder and Dark Chocolate Mousse | The Carnivorous Vegetarian

Leave a Reply

