I Still Love Bacon; or, Why Eat Vegetarian?

I mean, just look at that artery-clogging deliciousness.

I mean, just look at that artery-clogging deliciousness.

I don’t think eating meat is wrong. Let me just get that out of the way right now. I love bacon. I also love steak, pork chops, chicken, ham, and pretty much every cut of meat you can think of. I’m getting really hungry just thinking of a nice Chicken Cordon Bleu, with that tender, juicy chicken, and the slightly salty ham stuffed inside…but that’s off topic. The point is, I love to eat meat. And yet, for some reason, I’m starting to go vegetarian. So why is that? The answer is simple: I don’t like how factory farms (the source of pretty much all the meat you find in the grocery store) treat their animals. If you haven’t seen the movie Food, Inc., I recommend that you do so. It’s on Netflix, and I think Youtube has it as well. Anyway, it, along with some articles I researched, was very eye-opening for me: chickens cooped up so tightly they can’t move in cages that aren’t kept clean, cows tethered in cages so small that they beat their heads against the bars and end up going insane, and other awful situations. Quite frankly, it’s horrible, and it doesn’t sit right with me. As a Christian, I believe we are given stewardship over the Earth, as laid out in Genesis 2. Part of that stewardship entails the proper care and treatment of the animals. Do I think we’re allowed to eat meat? Heck yes. But I do believe that we should take care of the animals while they’re alive. My conscience will no longer allow me to eat meat provided from factory farms because I cannot encourage the horrific treatment of the animals by purchasing meat from those suppliers. Please note that this is not a condemnation of anyone’s eating choices! Far from it. This is a personal conviction from one person. I’m not completely giving up meat, either. I just will only eat it when I can get it from a local, organic, humane farm (those exist! Shocker, right?). However, as a broke college student, that option is rather expensive, so I’m switching over to a vegetarian diet on a regular basis. I’m basically going to be a vegetarian with occasional (planned) relapses.

You never really hear about "People for the Ethical Treatment of Fruits and Veggies."

You never really hear about “People for the Ethical Treatment of Fruits and Veggies.”

I am also aware of the factory farm conditions for dairy and eggs, but I’m not going completely vegan. I love cheese too much! So to keep my principles consistent, I buy organic eggs from farms with free-range, no added antibiotics or hormones, vegetarian-fed hens. I also buy my cheese from local (humane) farms. No overly processed nonsense for me. It tastes better, anyway. I do use almond milk instead of real milk almost exclusively now – I think it’s tastier and more filling 🙂

All of that brings me to the point of this blog: it’s mostly for my own accountability, but it’s also here to be part of the ethical eating community. What I intend to do is to blog about my food every day as I explore new vegetarian options and recipes, while also coming up with my own. It’s difficult for me resist food temptations, so knowing that I have to post about it on the internet every day will keep me in line. It also gives me a place to share my recipes and the cool stuff that I find on this eating journey with everyone 🙂 Shocking twist: I’m also mostly gluten-free. Gluten aggravates my fibromyalgia, so I stay away from it as much as possible. I’ll eat it sometimes when I go out (Panera, you sly temptress), but I won’t keep it in the house. So please join me in my gluten-lite, mostly vegetarian food journey 🙂 I would welcome any encouragement, recipes, tips, or whatever you have to offer. Check back later today for my first food entry!

About Selayna

I'm an aspiring writer, as well as crazy and rather sarcastic. I'm currently teaching English at a school in Poland, so check out my travel blog for humorous (and occasionally insightful) commentary on my adventures!
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to I Still Love Bacon; or, Why Eat Vegetarian?

  1. Anna says:

    I agree! Food, Inc. is excellent! I look forward to following your journey and discovering new delicious recipes!

    Like

Leave a Reply

